iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Skidding With tractor

Started by gwilson, June 10, 2012, 05:04:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gwilson

Hello Im fairly new to Forestry Forum and have found some good info on here so far. I just started logging on the commercial scale and am skidding for the tim being with a tractor. This is going fairly well but needs to be faster. Does anyone have any tips on moving wood faster. were currently cutting hardwood pulpwood in the Peidmont of SC and skidding with a 105 hp john deere using a chain. looking for a faster solution. Thank you for your input and have a nice day.

postville

A Valby winch will triple your production. Get a cable snatch block too.
This was one of the best investments I have ever made. Bob
LT40 25hp Kohler, Gehl 6635, Valby grapple, Ford 4600, Farmi winch, Stihl saws

Raider Bill

Do a search here about tractor skidding. You will find many good threads.

Welcome to the FF!
The First 70 years of childhood is always the hardest.

JDeere

Welcome to the forum. As postville said, get a winch. There are a number of good winches on the market for tractors, such as: Farmi, Fransgard, Valby, etc. Your increase in production will pay for it in no time. Stay Safe!
2013 Western Star, 2012 Pelletier trailer, Serco 7500 crane, 2007 Volvo EC 140, 2009 John Deere 6115D, 2002 Cat 938G, 1997 John Deere 540G, 1996 Cat D-3C, 1995 Cat 416B, 2013 Cat 305.5E

thecfarm