iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Red Needles on Doug Fir

Started by cloudcap, May 17, 2009, 08:44:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cloudcap

Greetings!

I'm a bit of a novice tree farmer with a 10 acre lot on the east side of the central Washington Cascades (near Cle Elum, for you Washingtonians; behind Suncadia & above Domerie Flats for those of you that really know the area).  We plant a mix of Doug Fir, Ponderosa Pine, Lodgepole Pine, and White Pine and are in our fourth season of ownership.

We were wandering around the property over the weekend and saw some unusual (to us) new growth on several of the Doug Fir -- bright red needles.  All of the other new growth I've seen has been green, but this is the first time we've seen red.  Is this typical for Doug Fir?  The red needles were present on a bunch of trees and they don't seem distressed, so I'm inclined to think this is normal growth rather than something sinister.  Can anyone tell me what's going on here?

Thanks for your help.

Ron

beenthere

Are they new cones that are developing?

And welcome to the Forestry Forum. :)
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

woodtroll

They look like new candles of growth, but I have never noticed them being red.

RynSmith

Pretty sure you're looking at the male flowers there.   :P

Jeff

If you go to this link on ForestryImages.org  You will see more examples. Its the flower that becomes the cone
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

RynSmith

That was my first thought too, Jeff, but I went on good ol' google and found that the pollen flowers are red and the cone flowers are greenish.  I think you can actually see some hanging downwards in the second picture.

beenthere

Couple of quotes I found googling.