iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Help with wide band maintenance

Started by shenandoahsawmill, May 24, 2016, 01:20:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shenandoahsawmill

I am using 5" wide double cut, swadge tooth bands and have come down to my last sharp saw which I will use this weekend. I have been getting by with a jockey grinder that I made for quite a while now but it is time to tackle some serious maintenance on my collection of blades. Along with the jockey grinder, that I have been using for touchup, I have a hand swage, hand shaper and a quality automatic grinder (that came with my mill) but I am new to all of this equipment and would like to learn the basics. I have a very basic understanding of the pieces of equipment and have been practicing on a couple of scrap saws. Fortunately everything on the equipment was set up and adjusted prior to me buying my mill. I still have some basic questions (for the wide band folks out there) before I get into my better saws though. So I would like to verify the sequence of maintenance;
First-Stretching (about every five sharpenings), I need to buy a stretcher eventually.
Second-Swaging,
Third-Shaping,
Fourth-Sharpening the face of the tooth. 
Some additional questions- Is it necessary to grind all of the old swadge off of the teeth before re swaging the sawblade or can I swage over top of the swaging that exists?
Where can I find a good book on wide band maintenace? 
Would anyone with (wide band experience) be willing to travel to Winchester Va. to help me out if I cover your costs? Or I could pack everything up and travel to see your setup if you maintain your own wide bands? Thanks for any help. Gary

5quarter

I'g be interested to see some replies...I don't recall seeing this topic discussed here in detail. Perhaps member Cutting Edge has a few pointers and would weigh in?
What is this leisure time of which you speak?
Blue Harbor Refinishing

ozarkgem