iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Vancouver Island, where to start? Just looking for a new career...

Started by Kyle_, January 15, 2014, 02:30:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyle_

Hey all,

I'm relocating to Vancouver Island next month. Will be staying in the Comox Valley area for now, but willing to live anywhere on the island. I'm looking for a new career path, and my love of the outdoors leads me to logging. A little about myself:

I've been living and working in Alberta for 4 years, most of my work has been in the oilfield trucking industry,so being around logging operations isn't a new sight for me. I've always been curious about the logistics of logging and forestry, and I am confident I would enjoy a job in that field.

I'm an adept front loader operator and I've played with a track-hoe a couple times. I find that my hand eye coordination is very good, and I have a knack for running equipment. I'm used to working 12-16 hour days, most of which is outdoors. I've got a diesel truck, and I'm willing to work in camp or travel across the island for work.

The problem is, I have no idea where to start... I've searched these forums, craigslist and other avenues and haven't really come up with much. The last time I was there, I saw plenty of log trucks running around, so I'm sure there is something there. I don't really know many people there, so knowing the right person won't work for me. I'm not looking for a particular position, even if it's just labour... I know I've gotta get my foot in the door. Do I just start asking around? Is there a union? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

-Kyle

mad murdock