iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is this correct? (Info from Nyle)

Started by WoodChucker, July 30, 2004, 09:24:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoodChucker

I called Nyle yesterday to order an oven for drying samples and was also going to order a scale. The sales person ask me what type of Kiln I used (Nyle L-50) and told me I didn't need either one, to just use a good moisture meter (pin type). Now I'm not saying he's wrong because I'm new to this, but it's the first time I ever heard anyone say to do it that way. He also said that some of the bigger company's use just a MM now and not the oven drying to check there samples. Are any of you doing it this way with good results? If so, what type of meter are you using? He recommended the Delmhorst R-2000 because it had a range of 6% to 60% and most of the others only read to about 30 to 40%. But I've also heard that MM's are not all that accurate above 30%, so anyway am I getting good info here and are any of you doing it this way? Thanks!

R.T.
If a Husband & Wife are alone in the forrest fighting and no one is around to hear them, is he still wrong anyway?

Den Socling

First of all, unless that oven was really, really cheap, I'd go to WalMart and get a dinky microwave with a turntable.

Nyle sells DH kilns so I don't know what the guy knew about big companies (big companies using DH are rare to me) but I can tell you that 'big' companies use moisture meters as a guide but, in most cases, they bake samples before they call a load done.

Delmhorst J2000 is cheaper than a R2000 and the J2000 works well (list is $265). And hogwash, no meter can read MC above 25-30%.

Den

Don_Lewis