iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Problems Milling Poplar

Started by hbeane, June 19, 2016, 10:55:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hbeane

I am very new to milling and I know it is just my inexperience but I am having a hard time with polar.  It seems to come off the mill bowed. I have only had my mill a few months and only have sawn poplar, pitch pine, and a little maple.  Everything else looks pretty good but the poplar looks worse than store bought lumber.  Any Advise? 
Woodmizer LT15
1949 John Deere M
025 Stihl
250 Stihl
290 FarmBoss Still
C400 Echo
Honda 300 Fourtrax

POSTON WIDEHEAD

What diameter of Poplar log you sawing?

Smaller Poplar logs will surely bow in a second.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

hbeane

Quote from: POSTONLT40HD on June 19, 2016, 11:05:12 PM
What diameter of Poplar log you sawing?

Smaller Poplar logs will surely bow in a second.
I would say they were around 12"in diameter.  I do have some bigger ones probably 20" maybe a little bigger left to cut. I also have some more poplar to cut down that is different sizes.  So it is better to mill the larger logs? I have to cut down some smaller ones like the 12" one, are they worth milling or do they just bow to bad? Thanks for your help.
Woodmizer LT15
1949 John Deere M
025 Stihl
250 Stihl
290 FarmBoss Still
C400 Echo
Honda 300 Fourtrax

red

There are many kinds of poplar . Also stress in the log can be the cause .
Honor the Fallen Thank the Living

opticsguy