iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How long can a log stay a log

Started by maddog, February 15, 2017, 06:51:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maddog

I am very new to this and I thank you very much for any help you can give.
I have been offered a deal to cut up someone else's logs using their sawmill and we would sharing the money that was made.
The logs come from a tree removal company doing mostly residential work.
Some of the logs have been down for a couple of years and new logs coming in on a weekly basis.
There are cherry, oak, maple, pine, and this is in the north eastern US.
My question is are the older logs worth sawing and is there a rule of thumb, or a reference based on species that would help me out?
Thank you

fishfighter

I would say it all depends on what type of log and if they are on direct contact with the ground. Also, yard tree logs love to have nails in them.

You could always take a maul and knock the heck out of them to see if they are soft or hard.

ChugiakTinkerer

Welcome to the forum!  I'd try to pin down some of the potential risks so you could gauge the situation more accurately.  Running someone else's mill, who's responsible for broken blades, broken machinery, etc?  I'd take fishfinder's advice and take a look at some of those logs.
Woodland Mills HM130

WV Sawmiller

Maddog,

I agree with Chugiak (even though I can't pronounce his handle) on being careful to cover the liability and mill costs. Other than that sounds like an old fashioned share-cropping agreement (which were not always bad for either party).

Fishfighter is right about the wide range of conditions and log types. A dead white oak log might be good for several years while a pine on the ground easily might not be good after less than one season. Also was it in direct contact with the ground or held up by a root ball and the top, etc.

This does not sound like a bad deal and I hope you iron out the details and it works well for both of you.
Howard Green