iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Developing lumber suppliers

Started by Drum, July 17, 2004, 02:54:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drum

This is my first message on the forum and I am new to the lumber business but have extensive business experience. I have been working with a retail / distribution outfit in West Tennessee that specializes in mostly kiln dried FAS grade lumber in 80+ different species. The lumber buyers at our business are older (70+) and rely on relationships established over a lifetime but I'm beginning to suspect they may be in a rut and perhaps haven't changed with the industry.
We move a lot of lumber but, because we carry so many different species, our order quantities (avg order quantity is probably 3,000 bf) are not particularly attractive to the mills (eg Frank Miller) we deal with. So it's almost like they are doing us a favor to deal with us.
Ok, now to my question and, please remember that I am new to the business so I may be misinterpreting the situation.
Would we be better off developing as sources smaller, quality oriented mills that might be willing to make the better cuts and locate the better logs for us? If so, how would you suggest evaluating potential suppliers?
Of course, pricing (and freight) is always an issue. Currently our margins are ok in the retail end of the business (although I think our quality could be improved) but we have many wholesale opportunities where we are just too expensive.
We might consider buying whole logs, green and or air dried lumber. We have an excellent kiln operation down the street and we have some room, both outside and covered, for air drying.
I realize I'm asking for a lot of education but I would really appreciate your ideas and suggestions.

Percy

heya Drum