iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Buying Logs

Started by logger79, July 07, 2013, 10:34:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

logger79

I am new to sawmilling and want to get more into sawing and do less logging. I want to start buying logs from other loggers and am wanting some ideas of what others have done to get loggers to sell them logs. The loggers I have talked to want to stick with who they are currently selling to. Thought about putting some ads in papers, offering to pick up logs?  I am most interested in low grade tie and pallet logs.

Bibbyman

We've found it a real challenge to get what we need when we need it. Loggers tend to want to bring whatever they have when they have it.  Our logger actually encouraged us to saw RR ties but brought us only junk.

I suspect an ad in the paper will bring you only misery.  Everybody with a tree problem will be calling wanting you to pay them and take the problem tree off their hands.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

red oaks lumber

unless you buy truckloads every week, most loggers wont give you the time of day.however if you are willing to pay more for logs you will get logs.
when i started, i struggled trying to buy logs. once i started getting to know a few loggers it was eaiser getting logs.
2 things that will help you. 1)  scale logs heavy to the loggers favor. 2) pay the day they drop off logs.
the experts think i do things wrong
over 18 million b.f. processed and 7341 happy customers i disagree

dboyt

Most states have an association (in Missouri, it's the Missouri Forest Products Association).  Most loggers are members.  Check with the association in your state.  There's a good chance that you can find an independent logger in your area.  Payment on delivery is good, but be prepared to scale the logs yourself.
Norwood MX34 Pro portable sawmill, 8N Ford, Lewis Winch

WoodenHead