iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Blade Durability

Started by plaindriver, July 13, 2013, 03:27:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

plaindriver

Does some wood, like red oak, wht oak, or maple have a tendency to dull blades quicker than some other softer woods? Red oak seems to retain moisture really well. Does the wetter wood dull a blade quicker as well?
Have mercy om me, Im a newbie.
Kubota L4600 DT w/FEL, John Deere 750 4WD w/FEL, PH Digger,RotoTiller,Box Scraper,Disc;16, 18, 20" chainsaws;Troy Built 27T splitter; table saw, radial arm saw,turning lathe, chipper, small backhoe, Isuzu NPR 14' stakeside diesel truck; a wife that still likes me.

drobertson

Not for me, all about the same, I am thinking that knots are the main culprit on excessive wear on the cutting edge, not counting mud, rocks, nails, and the usual debris that comes with some logs, white oak can be hard if they are seasoned, not fresh cut, but then again, some dead pine has shown a dulling card, so really I would say knots are the killer of blades,  david
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

beenthere

plaindriver
Are the logs clean that you are sawing? No imbedded dirt in the bark?
Do you have the "debarker" ahead of the cut where the blade enters the wood through the bark?

The wetter wood should saw easier, not dull the blades quicker.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Andy White

Plaindriver