iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Homesteader Income Streams?

Started by Jason_AliceMae Farms, February 18, 2014, 03:09:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jason_AliceMae Farms

So my goal eventually is to be in a position to be at my property full time to be able to homestead and enjoy it all the time.  I often think about different income streams for either a full or part time homesteader.  I am just throwing this out there to see what others may be doing currently on your homestead or other ideas you guys have had.  I think in another life I was a farmer/rancher or something along those lines because my day dreams always come back to the slower paced, hard work, old school way of life.

Income streams for the homestead I have thought about:
Small flock of sheep and other animals (chickens, dairy/meet cows, rabbits, etc.)
Garden, fruit/nut trees
Firewood
Sawmill services and some lumber
Land Clearing/excavation, haying, small scale logging (already be taking place on the homestead)
Small scale "agri-tourism"
welding services
incorporating other hobbies somehow (woodworking, hunting, fishing, etc.)
and the list goes on but the brain is failing me now...

What else do you guys do or would you like to get into?

Watching over 90 acres of the earth with 50 acres being forest.

Someday I would like to be able to say that I left thes 90 acres healthier than when I started watching over them.

Leigh Family Farm

I don't have a homestead yet, an emphasis on yet, so here are my thoughts on it.

Too many things may bog up your chance to make money. I would focus on the things that work in a nice synergy together, and have a core four or five money makers with several outlyers that produce money but aren't as steady. Here's how I would do it:

Chickens (eggs and broilers)
Rabbits (meat)
Pigs (meat)
Vegetables (small enough that I can handle it. Think CSA)
Fruits (U-pick berries, small apple & peach orchards)