iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Minimal "Rot" on post/beam edges, OK???

Started by AButton, March 16, 2018, 12:33:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AButton

I am taking on my first large milling project, putting together a storage shed/barn for myself. I do not have a great access to newly cut lumber so what I have has began to rot in the sapwood. I have been able to cut most of the rot out, keeping the heart, but on some of the larger pieces (8x8, 6x12)  some rot (very minimal) remains on the corners. It appears to be white rot (though I am not an expert) Is this acceptable? I have them stickered, under a roof to keep the moisture down and let them air dry with plenty of circulation. Any help would be great. 

Aaron 

PC-Urban-Sawyer

I'd say knock the "rotten" edges off the timbers using a spoke shave or similar...

Herb

Don P

Not what you want to hear. The problem with decay is it can cause significant strength loss well before we can visually detect it.

AButton

Ya, that's a bit of concern. I wonder if there is a way I can "test" the strength. By chance, does anybody know if the heart wood typically gets damaged in similar scenarios? 

moodnacreek

Depends on the species; rot resistance woods have sap wood that rots very soon after the tree is cut. In warm weather logs are supposed to be cut in 2 weeks unless watered.  [ this is why I keep saying put them on cold damp ground] . Anyhow in spruce [and maple] there is no sap wood and any rot seen is very bad as it will keep going. If the posts and beams you are sawing are over size or of even slightly rot resistant  then the draw knife, as mentioned, is what I would do.

Don P