iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cypress worth it?

Started by wkf94025, October 28, 2023, 11:43:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wkf94025

Is this dead cypress tree worth milling?  It's coming down this week, and I can get a couple trunk logs from the job if I want it.  I've suggested to the property owner, a club I belong to, that I could produce a great conference room table from the tree.  They are excited about the possibilities.  I have no experience with cypress, don't know exactly which species this is, and wonder about this particular tree's condition milling wise.  It's probably 3.5ft to 4ft DBH, so not a small specimen.

Lucas 7-23 swing arm mill, DIY solar kilns (5k BF), Skidsteer T76 w/ log grapple, F350 Powerstroke CCSB 4x4, Big Tex 14LP and Diamond C LPX20 trailers, Stihl saws, Minimax CU300, various Powermatic, Laguna, Oneida, DeWalt, etc.  Focused on Doug Fir, Redwood, white and red oak, Claro walnut.

doc henderson

It is fairly rot resistant.  It may be great on the inside.  no harm in milling and seeing, but I would hold back on promises until it gets opened, or at least the caveat "we will see".  after it is cut, you see the two ends and decide from there.  Was it hit by lightning?  looks like a black streak on the side in one pic.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

Ianab

Once it's on the ground it's a lot easier to judge the internals of the log. The local cypress can develop rot and bugs while still standing and green, so you can never be 100% sure what you will find. Just make sure the arborist knows you intend to mill it, so they leave it as "logs", not easy to carry firewood. Once you can examine the cut ends it will be clearer what you have to work with.