iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

cowcumber, paradise, and shoemake?

Started by hackberry jake, October 22, 2015, 09:04:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hackberry jake

I have a chance to buy these logs. Never heard of em. I looked up cow cumber and it said it was a magnolia. Any advice?
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

WDH

Cucumber tree, Magnolia acuminata, has green heartwood, just like yellow poplar.  Wood is very very similar to yellow poplar, so it will be nice to mill and be easy to work with on projects.  May be prone to blotching when staining, like yellow poplar.  Southern magnolia, the ones with the big white flowers, and the ones that you sit under to sip mint juleps, has a dark brown heartwood.  Both yellow poplar and cucumber tree are in the Magnolia family.

I have no experience with tree of paradise, Ailanthus altissima, but I believe the wood is soft and kind of bland.

Shoemake, more properly known as sumac, has very beautiful wood.  very coarse grained.  A novelty wood as the sumac never gets very large.  Check out Forum member @phinds wood ID website.  It is excellent.  Best on the web, by far.

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/sumac.htm
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

Kingmt

There is different kinds of sumac. But some people have reactions to sumac. It burns pretty.
Sawmill=Harbor Freight Item#62366
Chainsaws=MS180CBE(14"), MS290(18"), MS038(20"), MS660(20" & 36")
Staff=1Wife & 5 Kids :)
Please excuse my typing. I don't do well at catching auto correct.

hunz

Around here the mountain folk call poised sumac shoemake.
Dream as if you'll saw forever; saw as if you'll die today.