iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stihl 048 summer rebuild

Started by Addy89, May 09, 2019, 12:35:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Addy89

hello all,

I picked up an old 048 that has problems starting for cheap ($50), and an 028 with a broken rear handle. Now upon inspection, the piston has one score through it. I'm pretty new to this, and I wanted a couple of saws to rebuild and give them a second life. Now, the 048 has a 52mm piston, do the newer pistons fit in there? should I replace the cylinder while I'm in there? Wheres a good place to buy parts or look for parts?

I may need my handheld as I follow through with this lol  so any pointers or suggestions would be much appreciated!

the 028 is almost impossible to find the rear handle, there might be a guy in town with a parts saw that I could possibly get it from. I'm going into the Stihl dealership today to ask if they have the part. The goal of this saw is to clean it up and make it look nice, maybe tear it down and clean it and build it back up all shiny new.  

I'm a forestry student, working this summer in a small town doing cutblock layout, so I have lots of free time after a shift to work on these projects

I also have a Stihl 461, 170 and a Huskey 36. I think I caught the chainsaw bug

thanks all!

Addy89

So I went to the Stihl dealership and they had no 028 parts, however, they had a nice looking 048 in their graveyard of saws, missing a carb, the guy said $30 bucks so now I have a parts saw to go with it!

Al_Smith

The good news is a well tuned 048 is a powerful saw .The bad news is parts are very rare .For example the clutch side seal is next to impossible to find .
I don't think a piston from an 038 magnum ( 52 mm ) would work but the piston rings are the same .Just buff out the piston ,should be good to go .
The 028 you might be able to E-Bay the parts but not so much on the 048 as they only appear rarely .BTW I have two   048's .

Addy89

hey, thanks