iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What do figure and or defects look like on living trees

Started by maple man, June 14, 2018, 08:02:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maple man

I am a professional wood worker with over 40 years experience and an amateur forester who has  been pruning and releasing oaks and maples on my 50 acres for about 15 years. I have recently realized that I really don't understand the correlation between what I am seeing in finished lumber with what I see on the living tree or log.

Some things are obvious like waves under the bark produces curl in maple or dimples indicating birds eye within. I also think I understand that sprays of tight birds eye like knots such as are found in willow must be caused by groups of epicormic like sprouts that persist without diameter growth for short periods of time allowing the trunk to grow around them. On oak crop trees which have been released I am pruning off any epicormics in the first or second year that they appear when they are from  1/16' To 1/4" in diameter and am assuming that the resulting defect would be a small pin knot or a tight birds eye type knot which as a wood worker would not bother me at all but I have been told that these may be considered a real defect under some circumstances.

I am interested in hearing from people who buy and cut logs whether they would down grade lumber or veneer that had knots of this size or if you have seen larger or unsound defects from this sort of pruning.

Thanks for your comments

Ron Wenrich