iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Air filters

Started by burroak, May 07, 2004, 06:12:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

burroak

Brand newbie here...have a couple of old homelites and a Husqvarna 272xp, mostly cut a lot of firewood...husky is favorite saw.

Here's a question? My Husky has a large air filter, looks a lot like a filter for a car...pleated, made of orange-tan fuzzy something or other...and they don't stay clean very long. You can blow them out, but they get dirty faster the next few times around, until you get around to the saw shop for another $20 filter. Ugh!

I was talking with a guy a few days ago, and this guy said that I have been getting the wrong kind of filter...He likes Sthil chain saws, but said I should look for one with a fine mesh made of nylon, brass, or aluminum because they are easy to keep clean. So I called the saw dealer, who really didn't know what I was talking about. My friend also wondered if maybe the dealer was only keeping the "wrong" kind around  for reasons of his own..."wink!"

So, chainsaw folks, what's the deal? If there is another kind I should be asking for, what exactly should I ask for, maybe even a part number?

Sorry for long drawn=out post, and thanks.

Rocky_J

If the filter is getting dirty, then that means all that crap isn't going into your engine. Sounds like you might be looking a bit too hard for a solution to a non-problem.

Also, a sharp chain will produce mostly wood chips and very little dust. If you are finding tons of fine dust, it means you aren't keeping your chain sharp. Big wood chips do not clog air filters, fine dust plugs air filters. So the solution to your problem is to buy more $1 chain files and practice filing more often!  :)

Kevin

burroak, welcome to the forum.
Does your owners manual say anything about the filters available for the 272?

travelr64

Too bad K&N or someone else doesn't make washable air filters for chainsaws.  Or do they?

Coop
""Now look what you've gotten us into ! ! !