iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

setworks

Started by arnold113, November 28, 2013, 11:52:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arnold113

Last Tuesday when I got to run LeroyC's lt40 to saw up my first ever log, I got just a little taste of setworks. So now I'm going to put setworks on my diy bandmill. Being an electronics tech I shouldn't have too much trouble in designing setworks using a microcomputer. My biggest problem is I know very little about sawing. I am hoping that someone could find the time to give me a lesson on what setworks does and how it does what it does. Knowing that, I can write a computer program. Anyone's help would be great. Thanks. Arnold113 
DIY band saw mill: four post, 25 HP gas engine, 32" x 18' portable, 24 vdc and hydraulic controls, pineywoods log turner, hyd log loader. RF remote controls for mill.  DIY set works.

Gasawyer

Depends on which setworks you ran. Simple set which was the first WM setworks(and what I have) is just a repetative stop system reading off the up/down chain. The newer setworks I haven't used is supposed to know where the bed is and do some other features. It reads of off a rod attached to the mast.  The simple set wouldn't be too hard to replicate I think.  Hope this helps.
Woodmizer LT-40hdd super hyd.,Lucas 618,Lucas 823dsm,Alaskian chainsaw mill 6',many chainsaws large and small,NH L555 skidsteer, Int. TD-9,JD500 backhoe, and International grapple truck.

Dave Shepard

Bibbyman has a video of using WoodMizer's Accuset2. That should give you a good idea of what to expect. I also have Accuset2. It uses a linear transducer to tell the computer where the blade is in relationship to the bed.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

danreed76