iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hercules/Eaton winch on a 1978 225 TJ

Started by David-L, November 05, 2015, 05:47:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David-L

Eaton winch, question is, it has been weeping a little hyd oil on the piston cup side so I am assuming it is the PSI plate seal as that is where the oil is showing up on that PSI plate ( bottom where swivel connector attaches ). I have checked the swivel fitting and thats tight so thinking it,s that seal. I will take the winch off and clean it up and as I have no experience with these, can I pull the bearer leg off and slide everything back to get to that seal or is it more complicated than that. Like I said not alot of oil and it has not fouled the brake band yet so thinking it's a must do soon before it does as I have a little time while a cutting plan for the next job is completed. Oh ya, winch has been working well and the brake has been holding well to.Thanks.
In two days from now, tomorrow will be yesterday.

GRANITEstateMP

We took our winch right off the machine and did a rebuild on the shop floor.  Got all the seals and some good tips from the guys at Harolds up in Maine.  It was a bit intimidating at first but not bad once you got stuff pulled apart.  It was also super easy to get to some of the grease fitting once the winch was off ;D
Hakki Pilke 1x37
Kubota M6040
Load Trail 12ft Dump Trailer
2015 GMC 3500HD SRW
2016 Polaris 450HO
2016 Polaris 570
SureTrac 12ft Dump Trailer

David-L

Should have parts to get it back together soon. Rebuilding the piston. Not a bad job, the support leg came off hard though.

Neilo

Looks like it is going well, and with the right gear to lift it out easy.

This can be done in the machine, and getting the leg off usually requires loosening the bolts on the left side as well, so the frame can move a little.