iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

The Best Investment

Started by Deadwood, October 31, 2005, 10:13:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadwood

If I was a better Accountant perhaps I could present some of my thoughts in statistical terms. I really can't do that so I will just come out and ask my question.

Can anyone think of a better investment than a tractor?

I know for every kind of implement a tractor has, there is a special machine that can do it better (like a skidder, combine or forklift). Still no machine has the versatility that a tractor has. Pulling out wood, shoveling dirt with a loader, taking Aunt Elenor's couch out to the barn for storage...all these are uses a tractor gets every day.

Perhaps there is a way for a tractor's true worth to be calculated, but I certainly could not do the math. I am not simple minded mind you, but just consider for a moment how impressive of an investment a tractor is. First you would have to consider it's low price tag. My Kubota for instance cost 14,300 bucks in 1999. If that sounds high, look at my old truck, 20,000 for that same year. Guess which one is still being used? Guess which one cost me an arm and a leg for maintenance and is no longer on the road? Then guess which one has not even reached its teenage years in terms of longevity?

Then there is the cost per hour. I am not sure how you could put a price tag on such convienience? It runs all day on 5 gallons of diesel fuel. It has never needed repairs six years. The maintenance is so minimal it would be a stretch to call it 100 bucks a year.