iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

To Chip or Not TO Chip

Started by Dewey, July 18, 2017, 02:11:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dewey

I need a little help deciding....  I saw Cedar and normally have a grinder come in to my Mill in the Spring to cleanup slabs.. Usually have around 20 Tractor Trailer loads.... this year I ran into a snag there seems to be a much bigger Cedar Mill in Canada that has flooded the Regional mulch market with their Cedar waste.. So now it appears I have to wait until another spring piling and taking space I don't have..
For a few years I have been getting more and more calls for Cedar chips for playground and camp grounds..
So I'm a thinking of doing it.... But I have no knowledge of chippers...  What kind to buy or size... I have tractor so a PTO chipper would be a possibility.
Not even sure if it would be best to chip as I saw or pile it up and make it a separate operation...
I know there is allot of you that chip  So I thought this would be a good place to start..

Cedarman

You might want to check and see if your chips must be certified before they can be used for playgrounds.
I am in the pink when sawing cedar.

Dewey

They don't have to be for the ones that have contacted me...

Davek603

I would look for a retired tree service chipper such as an Altec. I think I would work better than a pto driven one. Plus you can leave it set up and bring the slabs to it with the tractor.
Woodmizer LT50 and lots of iron to go with it

Kbeitz

In our area you can rent a chipper.
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

nativewolf

Great question, I see chuck & duck asplundh (sp?) for a few thousand on craigslist not infrequently.  I think if you advertised chips on CL you'd do ok with them, even people taking for mulch would get out of your way.
Liking Walnut

TKehl