iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

green oak glazing

Started by cizzler, January 25, 2006, 08:59:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cizzler

hello there, newbie here. can anyone give me any info on glazing green oak structures.that is fixing the windows, glass panels and doors to the frame.  over here in the uk i have heard of direct glazing but i'm not too sure what this entails. any advice at all would be most appreciated.
dave fry

Jim_Rogers

Can you define glazing for us, as you understand it......
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

jph

Welcome Cizzler, I can't help regarding your question re glazing but I can warn you that half of what we say over here needs to be translated before they understand it over there and vice versa. I still havn't worked out what Grits are.  ??? ???  Don't forget to fill out you profile and plant your tree on the map so we can see exactly where you are.

srjones

Hi cizzler,

I'm guessing that you're describing some sort of finishing process, right?

JPH, grits are the same stuff used to make polenta which you might have heard of.  However, prepared as a breakfast food rather than a lunch or dinner food (like polenta would probably be).

Someone once said "England and America are two countries separated by a common language."   :D :D :D  How true, how true.
Everyone has hobbies...I hope to live in mine someday.

cizzler

when i say glazing i mean fixing the glass to the frame. how should the windows and doors be fixed to the frame so that they are'nt affected by movements in the frame as it drys. are there any previous posts that cover this topic.
dave fry

cizzler

ooh hello jim, i did'nt notice it was you.
dave fry

srjones

Oh...THAT glazing.  (window glazing)... :)
Everyone has hobbies...I hope to live in mine someday.

Jim_Rogers

I kind of figured it might be window glazing but you never know.....
especially when it's the other English language ;D