iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Ash Log Prices

Started by 123maxbars, December 30, 2012, 08:07:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

123maxbars

Hope everyone had a good Christmas.

I had a farmer bring some logs over. This guy is clearing some more pasture for his cattle across the highway from me and brings me a few logs a month. Today he dropped off some Ash logs. I have never sawed ash or been asked by any of my customers for ash lumber. What are you guys paying for ash logs?

Two logs: Both are 10ft long. No limbs, good clear saw logs, diam on small end is 18 on both.

He usually drops them off and I scale them later. He brought the ash and a few walnut.He is asking .25cents a bf for the ash/doyle scale. I have no experience with ash, looking for advice on the price of the logs ( I think I got a good deal on what he is asking). Also I will saw them up and stack them in the barn for drying. I was thinking saw them at 5/4 at maximium width, any thoughts on that also would be appreciated.

Sawyer/Woodworker/Timber Harvester
Woodmizer LT70 Super Wide, Nyle L53 and 200 kiln, too many other machines to list.
outofthewoods
Youtube page
Out of the

T Welsh

123maxbars, The price your neighbor is asking IMO is fair! Since he delivered them and if they are good logs. Ash is a hard wood (baseball bats) are some products made from the specie others are handles and anything else you have a need for that calls for good strength. Ash does have a tendency to warp and twist if not stickered and stacked right. We get 0.35 bf at the mills for common Ash,butt logs a little higher and veneer about 1.00bf Hope this helps. Tim

DRB