iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How to center a log on a mill

Started by 2StateTrigger, March 02, 2017, 10:08:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2StateTrigger

So, I'm BRAND new to sawyering and am struggling with learning how to properly center logs on my mill.

Is there a quick and easy method of properly centering a log along it's length so as to reduce the number of cuts and the amount of time required to create a basic square post/beam out of the log?

Sorry to bore you guys with such a basic question but I'm learning that I'm wasting a ton of time by making multiple passes which is kinda upsetting me to no end....

Jeff
Molon Labe

WV Sawmiller

2ST,

What kind of mill are you talking or thinking about using? My mill has hydraulic toe boards or rollers at the front and back and I just toggle to raise the front or back. You can be precise and measure from the center of the log on both end or as most of us do most of the time just eyeball it. I will often raise the front or back to level the log then run my head the full length to see if my blade is approximately the same height from the log the entire length and adjust slightly to correct if not. When correct I'll take off the slab and maybe a flitch or two then I will often rotate 90 degrees and do the second side then lower the toe board for the next 2 sides. This is critical and I suspect most of will admit forgetting this step and cutting long embarrassing wedges.

If you are using a manual mill without the hydraulic toebords I gather you have to jack up the low end and put a shim board or two in there till you square off the first and maybe second sides.

Hope that answers your question.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

2StateTrigger

WV Sawmiller,