iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cutting cedar telephone poles

Started by Articcub, June 08, 2016, 09:32:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Articcub

Just looking for some direction
I have been approached by a gentleman to see if I would like some old telephone poles they are cedar and quite old and dried out are these cuttable on a band ,mill and if so should I change from water to some other type of a lubricant I am just new to cutting wood so go easy on me please .
Woodland HM 126

derhntr

Power poles are known to have tramp metal in them. Power company is going to drop some off for me shortly. They had only been treated for the first 8 feet.
2006 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 with command control (I hate walking in sawdust)
US Army National Guard (RET) SFC

PC-Urban-Sawyer

No need to beg for mercy on this forum. You have to be really bad to get taken to the woodshed here...

You want to avoid sawing portions of poles which have been treated. The chemicals used are really bad on you. Also, like derhntr mentioned, there's frequently a lot of metal in poles and that can be expensive pretty quick.

Good Luck and Be Careful!

Herb

j_d

I am a noob so my advice is worth what you are paying for it.  I have sawn power poles a few times and did ok.  Some have a lot of metal but it is usually on the outside.  I picked up a relatively in expensive security wand to detect metal.  Water worked fine on the blade, just a little more than normal.  If the wind is right the dust and chemicals don't seem to bad.  When the wind is bad I wear a decent dusk mask and googles, long sleeves etc or prefer to wait until the wind is right.  Most of what I have sawn here in ohio seems to be yellow pine i think and the occasional cedar.  You also have to be more selective on where / how you dispose of the saw dust and scrap.  Best of luck.
Josh
eta:  I also explain to the customer that they don't want to use the wood inside, etc.
God, Family, Tribe

Brucer