iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

what finish over live edge table top?

Started by ray299, December 15, 2017, 01:30:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ray299

Hey everyone, I'm digging into my slabs that I have had drying for quite a while now. I watched a video by StoneCoatCounterTop and saw his technique about a skim coat and flood coat and love the finish. They sell the kits... but at a price tag. I should be able to get this stuff local, right? The clear coat? What works best for just a real thick clear coat for a table top? Can anyone direct me to a good thread with the clearing topic? I'm just getting into this live edge furniture stuff and don't want to start off spending a lot of money. TIA!

VT_Forestry

I used Famowood Glaze Coat because I could buy it locally at Lowe's - I'm sure there are better products out there but I think for the money it does a great job.  The biggest thing with any of the 2-part systems is to follow the instructions *exactly*.  If they tell you to stir it for 10 minutes - stir it for 10 minutes, not 8, not 12, but exactly 10  :D

I made this live edge walnut coffee table and went with the Glaze Coat - this was only my 2nd time using it and by far the biggest project I had done with it to date.

Forester - Newport News Waterworks

ray299

Wow, that looks real nice! And it's very similar to my oak piece... I have a lot of cracks in mine though... I wanted to fill the cracks with color- check out this link
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnKg49cXnNs

Quote from: VT_Forestry on December 15, 2017, 02:12:22 PM
I used Famowood Glaze Coat because I could buy it locally at Lowe's - I'm sure there are better products out there but I think for the money it does a great job.  The biggest thing with any of the 2-part systems is to follow the instructions *exactly*.  If they tell you to stir it for 10 minutes - stir it for 10 minutes, not 8, not 12, but exactly 10  :D