iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Shed extension - finished 2-2-2016

Started by WV Sawmiller, January 12, 2016, 06:21:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WV Sawmiller

Wrote a while back and posted pix of my lumber storage shed. Roof was 14'X40' with 2 sections with 18' openings. Bought used roofing tin cheap and when I got done had a bunch left over.

Hard to believe but I filled it up and decided needed more storage (I know that has never happened to any of you). I studied on it and decided I had enough room to add another section so am working on it now. I sold all my excess tin except enough to cover this extension.

Cut and dragged down 3 more locust poles and squared 1-2 sides as needed and sunk them in the ground 3' or so. Front opening is 18'. Headers are 2"X12"X19' ash boards I cut a week or so back. All the work I did/am doing by myself. Its a bear to raise a green locust pole 6X6 and 18-20' long using just a 4 wheeler, snatch block and cable. Raising a couple of green/fresh cut 19' long 2X12's is another treat. Snap a line, build a 2X6 shelf to rest on, raise one end with a snatch block and ATV winch and chain in place then move to the other end. Ratchet straps, cable come along, crowbar, etc used to jack the end onto place. Nail and bolt and go secure other end. Much easier on the back because of center pole to lift from.

Currently adding sheeting at 45 degree angle to keep from ricking and add support. Still have to add some 45 degree bracing on the 2 front poles where scabbed (Right term???) on to previous build.