iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to me 1986 LT40 Manual...

Started by octam1, September 01, 2011, 07:23:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

octam1

Hey Guys, Im new to the FF, have been reading here as a guest for a while but just purchased an older mill and figured it was time to join FF instead of just reading... I have been looking for a WM for a while, but I guess was waiting to find an older one that was a little cheaper... Well I came across a 1986 LT40 Manual, w/20 hp onan, struck a deal with the owner and now it mine... This being a manual mill, I know sawing will be more work, but I am ok with that... The mill is seems to be in good shape, Iv'e checked most of the things that wear and that I have read around here to check and have some parts on order to be changed when they come in...

But I bo have a few questions for you guys...

The frame is not the same as the newer mills, I would like to add a winch log turner to it, but the cross bracing is in the way and was wondering if anyone has any pictures of something they might have done to put the manual log turner on an older frame like this? I have looked at the pics from guy's like Pineywoods that have added some hyd turners, but im just going to stick with the manual for now...

The hyd tensioner, I have one in my posession that I could retro onto the mill, WM says id have to change and I am ok spending the $ and doing the work to mount it all up, but, I am just going to be milling wood for myself and building materials for myself at my properties, so my next question is, if I spend the $ to upgrade to the hyd tensioner will it be worth it? will it really cut better? blades last longer? Just asking to try and figure out if I want to do the upgrade or not...

I trying to learn about this WM and clean it up while I'm waiting for parts that need to be replaced and I am hopeing to be able to cut some wood in the next week or two and try it out... Just have to see how it goes tho...