iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Mahogany. Where can I get it?

Started by robedwards58, June 04, 2014, 05:22:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

robedwards58

Hey everyone. I live in Central Illinois and was looking to get ahold of some mahogany. Obviously these do not grow around Illinois but I was curious as to whether or not anyone knows where I could get at least one good sized log. I'm new to the whole milling aspect and so far have taken trees from my yard or anything someone nearby is willing to get rid of for free which is fine but I am pretty limited there. I checked with the local sawmills to see if they could order a log but they can't.
Any suggestions on how to get mahogany would be much appreciated.
Rob Edwards

Ocklawahaboy

Look into import regulations.  many exotic woods can only be imported as finished products.  ive never heard of these being available in log form.  maybe someone can help you but my guess is that you'd find out as quickly with Google. 

beenthere

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Magicman

Chinaberry is in the Mahogany family.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Bigbo1234

Im gonna venture to say you probly wont be able to get one, but if you find a supplier, ask if they have teak also, then let me know!!!
Bowen

Nomad

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swietenia_mahagoni
     Can still be found in south Florida.  The species is protected, but it might be possible to find a yard tree that needed to be cut down for whatever reason.  I'd bet if you contacted a few tree removal services in Monroe county Florida and offered a finder's fee, you might be able to buy a log.  Of course, then you'd have to pay to ship it.