iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Flat sawn or Quartersawn

Started by thmartin, December 02, 2012, 12:07:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thmartin

Hello Guys,
I need some help. I'm kind of new to the lumber making. But I got a sawmill about a year ago and I had always flat sawn oak. But it seems to always cup. I'm about to start cutting some pine trees to make a sawmill shed/shop and wanted to ask the best way to cut it before I waste a lot of wood. I have always air died my wood. And wanted to get started so it will be ready by spring. Any help would be great.

Okrafarmer

Welcome, thmartin!

So far I have not had much trouble with flat-sawn oak cupping, but I have not dried a whole lot of it. It may differ from species to species and with the specific condition of the log, and the methods used to dry it. Quarter-sawing the oak is more work, but may help it not to move as much when it dries.

Pine usually does not cup much if you sticker-stack it well.

Where do you live, and what kind of sawmill do you have?
He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:1

Operating a 2020 Woodmizer LT35 hydraulic for Upcountry Sawmill, Dacusville, SC

Now selling Logrite tools!

Writing fiction and nonfiction! Check my website.

WoodenHead

Welcome to the forum thmartin.  I cut mostly pine and I almost always flat saw (except for the odd board that is quarter-sawn in the process).  I'm assuming you'll need timbers and lumber for the sheds you are building?

In terms of the oak, how long are you letting it dry?  Oak can take a long time to dry and should be dried more slowly.  If it is allowed to dry too fast, you can get a variety of things happening.