iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Steel I (WF) Beam Info

Started by submarinesailor, February 08, 2018, 07:51:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

submarinesailor

I have been looking for someway to install a bridge over the Rose River in Syria, VA.  I need to span about 50' +/- 5'.  Recently (last night) I found several beam at are "65 feet, 27 inch web with 10 inch flange."  I am having problems finding a load table for this "size".  I need to know if it will meet my needs.  Looking at using 2 of them to support about 15-20 tons on a 2 point load - a heavy truck going across it.  The steel type is not known.

Does anyone in the heavy construction business have any info on this size beam.

Help - PLEASE.

Bruce

dgdrls

http://www.cmrp.com/blog/faq/calculations/how-to-identify-a-steel-beam-size.html

You need all this data to make a reasonable determination
and any mill stamps if available.

D

ChugiakTinkerer

I'm no engineer but I've worked up some calculations using this site: https://webstructural.com/beam-designer.html

My interest was for a beam to for a sawmill shed.  The steel beams are identified by the flange width and the weight ib pounds per running foot.  Looking online, I'd guess yours runs about 100 lbs per ft.  I'd go with the W10x100 as a starting point.

Using a 60' span, a distributed load of 500 lbs/ft (braces and bridge decking, a guess), and two 10,000 lb point loads 12' apart at the center, the beam fails.

There's a lot of engineering in these calcs and I'm learning my way, but even for a 50' span those beams look undersized. 
Woodland Mills HM130

Dave Shepard

It should be fairly easy to identify the beams. They are usually not exactly an even size. Like that 10" wide is likely 9.8", or somethiing odd. I've got my eye on some W24x94 pound beams 39' long to makes my 75' mill shed.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

starmac