iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log Loading Arch out of timbers.

Started by firefighter ontheside, July 18, 2018, 09:00:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

firefighter ontheside

Has anyone builtor seen one built out of timbers instead of steel.  I feel like I could mill some yellow pine 4x4's and put together a V shaped loader.  I would make it fairly tall(8feet) to avoid having to lower it down so far.  I would possibly even hang a chain hoist from it so I could raise or lower the log independent of the winch that's pulling on the loader.  I'm a woodworker/carpenter and not a metal worker, so I'm just thinking of something I can build and not have someone else weld it for me, plus I can cut timbers, but I'd have to buy steel.  Thanks for any input.
Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
Stihl 025, MS261 and MS362
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

firefighter ontheside

I've got most of a plan worked out.  I bought bolts and just milled some yellow pine 5x5's so I'm gonna go out it together.  Hopefully pics later.
Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

firefighter ontheside

I have more work to do, but I have the arch together and had it on the trailer.  I'm just gonna use load straps to hang the chain hoist.

Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

Firewoodjoe

Why not. Back in the old days of cutting with cross cut and horses they used big wood cranes and yarder towers.

711ac

firefighter ontheside

This was proof of concept, but my little 1 ton winch didn't have the guts to do the job.  So, tomorrow I will go get a bigger winch, instead of going to get logs on the trailer.

Woodmizer LT15
Kubota Grand L4200
2017 F350 Diesel 4WD
Kawasaki Mule 4010
1998 Dodge 3500 Flatbed

Ljohnsaw