iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Making my own firewood processor.

Started by paul case, October 13, 2018, 10:00:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

paul case

I have been contemplating getting into the firewood business. I have around 40 acres of trees that need thinned or clear cut for more pasture or to at least let the trees to grow. I have been sawmilling at my place for about 10 years and started out cutting my slabs to firewood length and selling them delivered by the truck load delivered and I got so busy milling that I didnt have time for it. So we started about 6 years ago bundling our slabs and selling the bundles. Usually I have 50 to 80 of them piled up to sell after the first of October. They cleaned them all out before the first of October this year.

So I have been getting over run with calls wanting firewood. That makes me think of cutting some as the mill is running and making a good profit with me there part time. Add to that we are always getting logs that we will not saw and we have been selling them at a very discounted price as we like to keep the lot cleaned up and I dont want to have to cut and split them by hand.

Processors are very expensive. This one is about the most reasonable one I have found.
Halverson HWP-140 Demo - YouTube

It costs over $8000.
I been thinking of building my own and I like the idea of having less moving parts so the catch and slide the log idea looks good to me. 
My plan is to use a 4x26 loader cylinder for the splitter, a 3x10 cylinder for the clamp arm, and a dual spool loader valve that I already have. ran by tractor hydraulics(which I already have) and use one of my stihl 660 with 36'' bar for the cutter. 

I see a lot of homemade processor stuff on youtube and I know some guys on here have made them so I am just looking for advise. 

PC
life is too short to be too serious. (some idiot)
2013 LT40SHE25 and Riehl edger,  WM 94 LT40 hd E15. Cut my sawing ''teeth'' on an EZ Boardwalk