iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Please help figure out problem :(

Started by T4Tree, March 17, 2012, 07:23:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

T4Tree

Hi folks,

First of all I want to thank you for approving my request to be on this forum. I am new to the forum and somewhat new to Forestry. I am currently studying and majoring in Forestry.
I have a problem in one of my forestry classes that my professor gave me to solve and I've been beating my head against the wall trying to figure out. And I'm hoping someone here can help me.

The problem states:

Predict a 20 years into the future from a 6k acre tract of land of a 20 year old slash pine plantation with 600 stems per acre and a basal area of 100 square feet per acre. The average height of the dominant and co dominant trees is 60ft with a site index of 70ft at 25 years.
I am also suppose to determine how much pulpwood the tract of land will produce in order to feed a paper mill. The mill will accept woof from a 4'' top to a 20'' top, however the firm gets a better price for sawlogs therefore wants anything 12'' or larger to go to the sawmill.
Another given states that the current stumpage is $150/thousand cubic feet.

I think I figured out how to do the first part but the second part of determining how much pulpwood the land will produce and what to send to the sawmill and what goes to the paper mill, has been making my head hurt. I just can't seem to figure it out. Is there an easy way of doing this that I'm missing? It's something I definatly need to learn to get into forestry and would appreciate and leads on this anyone will be wiling to give.

Thank you in advance.

snowstorm

you should do your own homework... thousand cubic ft????????

T4Tree

Quote from: snowstorm on March 17, 2012, 08:30:08 PM
you should do your own homework... thousand cubic ft????????

Not asking for anyone to do my homework. Asking for help or a lead on how I can figure it out this problem.

beenthere

T4Tree
Welcome to the forum.