iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Equipment suggestions/recommendations needed

Started by elitts, January 18, 2017, 01:16:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elitts

Ok, let me just say right now, I'm a fledgling hobbyist who reads enough to grasp the general idea, but is likely to miss small, but critical details without first hand experience.  I have 2 acres of land with a 1.25ish acre woodlot (flat and reasonably square, but damp), primarily filled with 40' - 60' tall silver maple and some dying ash.  I am building a treehouse w/zipline and a workshop, and since I need to cut down some trees to do so, I figured I may as well use my own trees for the interior woodwork and siding.

I'm going to have a portable mill come in to saw up my logs, but I need to get them out and stacked for him to saw efficiently. (apparently that's important)  As of right now, I have none of the equipment necessary to make this happen except a chainsaw.  What I do have is plenty of spare time, a teenager sized kid I don't mind working into exhaustion, and about a $1000-$2000 for buying equipment.

Things that may matter:

*  I intend to pick up a small manual mill later this summer/fall to do milling primarily as a hobby, retrim my house and provide wood for a couple of friends that do custom woodwork.
*  I am going to start tapping trees for syrup production, so a vehicle of some sort to haul a 50 gallon drum around for collection would be useful.
*  I need a different lawn mower, cause the 8hp/30" rider I have isn't cutting it.

So, how would you guys go about this? 

On the extreme end of labor, I could use a log cant and winch to haul logs out, but without raising at least one end, I suspect I'd end up grinding a lot of dirt and debris into the logs.

I could get a older 1970s - 1980s garden tractor to mow & skid logs.  Still need a cant hook I'd imagine, probably with a stand.

I could get a cheaper lawn tractor/mower, and an older ATV for skidding logs.