iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Which Wood Burning Boiler?

Started by southernilfarm, February 28, 2013, 04:06:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

southernilfarm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and will be purchasing an outdoor wood burning boiler soon.  I've been heating my house with a Harmon TL200 wood stove for several years.  While the Harmon works well for our house, we are adding a large garage (it will be well insulated) and an in-ground pool to the heating mix.

Local vendors are limited to Central Boiler and Nature's Comfort.  Central Boiler is well established in this area and their systems/dealer seem top notch.  The local Nature's Comfort folks are newer at this business, and I haven't found many people who own them here. 

Can anyone offer commentary on these two companies/products? 

We live on a 40 acre farm with no neighbors in sight, so I'm not too worried about anyone complaining about smoke, other than myself.  I'm considering one of the newer EPA certified burners as I want to minimize smoke/smell  - don't want to be out at the pool and smell the wood burner kick in during summer.  I also like the extra heat available from the more efficient stoves/less wood to feed. 

Again, your thoughts are most welcome.

Be well,
Mike
Kioti DK40se HST with FEL and other cool attachments.

thecfarm

southernilfarm,welcome to the forum. I think an OWB big enough to heat the house,garage and pool with cost a few dollars.  :D But would be a real good idea. You live in Southern IL right?
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

southernilfarm

Thanks!  Oh yeah, these things are not cheap!  That said, if I were to heat it all with propane, I'd go broke quickly.  Yes, I'm located in southern IL.  Not really that cold compared to New England, but enough to make you uncomfortable. 

Mike

gspren