iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

uphill versus downhill skidding

Started by a REAL dirtbag, December 21, 2009, 07:01:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

a REAL dirtbag

Brand new to FF here, howdy!  :)

I'm looking into uphill versus downhill skidding, and want to know about your experiences. I've worked with USFS and we recommend downhill skidding here in the Sierra unless an adverse skid is absolutely necessary. I'm a soil scientist with a forestry background, and when I've seen adverse runs it's usually pretty ugly, with deep skid trails and more plowing and gouging, even with grapple skidders.

I was surprised to find that US EPA recommends uphill skidding whenever possible. The idea is that the water running off the trail will get dissipated in the less-disturbed lands below. Whereas a downhill skid will concentrate runoff towards the landing and increase the erosion hazard.

I would think uphill skidding use lots more machine power, may cause slippage since the machine wants to slide downhill, etc. Is that true? What have you all seen in terms of soil disturbance and uphill versus downhill?

CX3

It may be different in other parts of this great country, but where I cut timber its up hill both ways, and snow two feet deep:)
John 3:16
You Better Believe It!

woodmills1

when I was a child, long ago it was uphill both ways through snow to change the TV channels.
James Mills,Lovely wife,collect old tools,vacuuming fool,36 bdft/hr,oak paper cutter,ebonic yooper rapper nauga seller, Blue Ox? its not fast, 2 cat family, LT70,edger, 375 bd ft/hr, we like Bob,free heat,no oil 12 years,big splitter, baked stuffed lobster, still cuttin the logs dere IAM

stonebroke

What difference does it make. You just haul out to your landing, might be uphill might be downhill, might be up and then down. Leastways that is the way in the northeast.

Stonebroke

ErikC