iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

2018 Tax Questions

Started by J.Inkslinger, January 22, 2019, 09:16:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

J.Inkslinger

:new_year: A new year means time for tax filings. 2018 brought a lot of new tax changes federally with the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act; some of the changes are amazing for business owners, while some others have outright wrecked carefully crafted tax plans from previous years.

If you have tax questions, feel free to put them here and I will try my best to answer them short of a full essay. I'm an Enrolled Agent (what is that?) with great knowledge of Federal Tax law and ok knowledge of Canadian, TN and WI tax law. Formerly a Forester before being a tax pro.

All answers are free, and in exchange for that price are theoretical positions that should not be relied on for your specific tax situation. (ie. I read it on the forestry forum is not a reliable defense against a tax investigation or audit)

samandothers

I'll start.  Interest paid on home equity loan is only deductible if money is used for home improvement?

If an equity loan is used while building a new home that interest is not deductible?

If this is not in the spirit of your offer then apologies and please disregard! ::)

Thanks!

J.Inkslinger

You are exactly in the realm of the questions I was looking for. The answers are:

• Home equity loans used for improvements on the home that secures it is deductible. That is also conditional on the loan plus any existing home mortgage debt not being more than the fair market value of the home
  • The loan interest is not deductible if used for building a new, separate home. The key here is that the equity loan proceeds must be spent on the home that is used to secure the loan