iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How do I log with a hydraulic excavator?

Started by Steven A., September 10, 2007, 04:50:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steven A.

Strange, I know. :)
I am not a logger or an excavating contractor by trade but I need to take down about a dozen mature trees, some living, some dead.
I just bought a 32,000 lb. excavator on tracks with a 1 yard bucket to do a little digging and then I'll sell it.
I'm just thinking that it might come in handy pushing on a leaning tree, maybe digging out a stump or 2, picking up and moving some logs. But I don't want to do anything dangerous.
This may sound stupid but have I overlooked some handy use for this machine in taking down these trees?

I ask because I have overlooked some things before.......... :)

Thanks, Steve.

IL Bull

Dig around the tree a little and then push them over.  This seems to be the way to do it now.  A lot quicker than a
Dozer. ;D
Case Skid Steer,  Ford Backhoe,  Allis WD45 and Burg Manual Sawmill

Steven A.

Thats just the kind of advice I'm looking for. Simple but not something that I'd thought of.

Thanks, any one else..........?

Gary_C

Ya, send to me and I will figure out some other uses for your excavator. Don't worry, I will explain everything when I get done.  8)
Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway.

Steven A.

Quote from: Gary_C on September 10, 2007, 05:54:00 PM
Ya, send to me and I will figure out some other uses for your excavator. Don't worry, I will explain everything when I get done.  8)

He he. I feel like a guy who has won the lottery. After buying the excavator everybody wants to be my friend. :)

Norm

That's how I use mine to take down trees. Dig two sides and then move and dig the other two sides, push over with the bucket high up.

One thing to be aware of is that they can come back on top of the excavator and crush the cab. Get your feet wet on some smaller ones first.

Ianab