iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cutting Rustic Hickory Trim Strips

Started by jbasen, November 04, 2018, 12:48:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbasen

I'm fairly new to building rustic furniture out of hickory logs.  I have some logs left over from other projects and would like to cut some trim strips of hickory bark from a few of the logs.  The strips I'm trying to cut are 1-3/4" wide.  I'm at a loss as to the best way to cut these strips.  I've marked one log using 2 strips of masking tape such that if make a cut that just touches the edge of both pieces of tape it will give me a nice piece of bark covered wood that is 1-3/4" wide.  

However, I realized, when I went to cut this on my band saw that while I could clearly see the top piece of tape to keep the cut on track; I was totally blind to the lower piece of tape.  I have very little confidence that I could guide a log through my bandsaw and keep it tracking properly to provide a consistent 1-3/4" wide piece of trim. 

Any ideas on a way to cut these trim strips would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks in advance for the help

1938farmall

perhaps tack a smooth strip on the rough face & run that against a tall fence.  be sure not to saw the nails or else make your piece thicker, then rip again after you remove the guide strip.
aka oldnorskie

LeeB

Saw the logs into live edge boards and then rip the bark edges off the boards.
'98 LT40HDD/Lombardini, Case 580L, Cat D4C, JD 3032 tractor, JD 5410 tractor, Husky 346, 372 and 562XP's. Stihl MS180 and MS361, 1998 and 2006 3/4 Ton 5.9 Cummins 4x4's, 1989 Dodge D100 w/ 318, and a 1966 Chevy C60 w/ dump bed.

jbasen

Thanks @1938farmall .