iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tree Climbing Experience

Started by crtreedude, September 05, 2004, 12:45:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crtreedude

Does anyone have tree climbing experience?  I have been reading about different techniques and I have 6 years experience climbing rock, using harnesses ropes, etc. I also have had a ropes course in ascending and descending, but it is nothing like learning from a person who actually spends significant time in the harness.

I have purchased the right rope (static, not dynamic), ascenders, etc, but I am looking for some basic how-to.

I am not cutting limbs, etc at this period, but removing epiphytes from mature trees so that they do not become too heavy and fall. The Costa Ricans do it just by climbing the trees, but there is no way I am going to let someone do that without protection. I figure I can learn how - with my related experience in Rock Climbing, and then teach them also.

Any hints or ideas? I know how to ascend, descent, place protection, etc. What I am looking for is some of the things you learn the hard way.

So, how did I end up here anyway?

DanG

I can't tell you much about tree climbing, but I think you're on the right track by asking the question. I had a flight instructor, a long time ago, who told me, "Learn from the mistakes of others. You won't live long if you try to make all of'em yourself." ;) :D :D
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

Oldtimer

Gosh. There'sa lot to know. Like a tree worker in a tree is only as good as his ground man. Like powerlines do not forgive a mistake.
Like knowing several key rope  knots, "working"knots in particular. Knowing what cuts to make,where. Like check everything three times, cut once.

Be careful, and remember it is all common sense, and gravity.