iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Seasoned or Green?

Started by Dana Stanley, September 10, 2018, 08:43:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dana Stanley

Ok so I'm studying up, rounding up my grand dads chisels, planes, mortise scribes etc. from 1913 or so. That is when he graduated Sloyed Training School so he could teach this stuff In manual dexterity classes! My hope is to be framing my mill shed by the spring time.
I thought I would need to let my milled lumber dry, but I am reading a book called Build a Classic Timber-Framed House by Jack Sobon, and Jack says you should frame it with green lumber, as seasoned lumber will just make it harder! My plan was to use Oak frame and pine for sheathing/siding boards, and roof boards, but he also claims that Pine is better for the frame, less shrinkage, and easier to work!
So what say's you folks?
Making Sawdust, boards and signs.
Woodland Mills HM-126
Kabota B-7800 with backhoe and loader
Ford Ranger, Husqvarna 455 20", Mac 610 24", other chainsaws 14", 23 ton log splitter
Matthew 3:10

Brad_bb

I tried pine for the exterior board and batten.  If you have carpenter bees, and I'm assuming in Mass you well do, they'll love to bore 1/2" tunnels in your pine.  I would not use Pine for exterior.

The following applies mostly to hardwood.  White pine is more stable drying if good quality.
Yes you can timber frame green.  But since it will take awhile, you will have timbers start trying on the outside and moving some.  Not a big deal.  Cutting dry joints is not really a big deal.  I cut a lot of timbers and keep them in my shed for a year before I use them.  It helps me because I can plane them to final dimension after they've done 70% of the movement they will do in that time period.  

There's two ways to look at it.  If you're a timber shop with a lot of guys cutting, and you cut the frame green, and get it up and assembled fast, that is great as it will dry as an assembly and all should be good.