iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

I need foundation help and opinions.

Started by Thackery, July 26, 2009, 06:33:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thackery

I'll try to post some pictures later,  but here is my story.  First off I am not a timberframer by any means,  just I guy with an old barn.   
I have been working on my timberframe bank barn for a couple of years. 
I have made slow but what I thought was some progress.

The barn had rot in a few places and also had some foundation problems so I have replaced timbers and poured concrete footer/columns to replace the "big rock" that was considered to be the old foundation.
I could tell that the entire frame had moved away from the bank wall, but did not appear to be very much, and had not changed for several years so I concerned myself with the other repairs first.

I have worked my way around to repairing the foundation on the side parallel to the bank.
The frame is obviously not plumb on this foundation and the rock foundation is crumbling apart.

I had intentions of supporting each of the three columns individually and replacing the foundation with a concrete column starting from the frost line, etc.   However,   now I am feeling that this may be the wrong direction.
I am worried that I will not be able to plumb the column,   doing the work may weaken things increasing the possiblity of the frame moving, etc.

In a nutshell I am in over my head and getting a bit worried.
Thackery

Jim_Rogers

It's tough to say without seeing the entire project, but I would think that one of the first things you should consider is immediate stabilization. And what I mean by that is to block up the barn's floor support system to prevent it from shifting by the failing foundation falling apart.

You may need to create several cribbing towers in the basement area to hold everything up while the foundation is repaired:

The way these guys do cribbing blocks is the cribbing is 6"x7"x 4' and they stack them the 7" tall way.