iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Norwood's new "Frontier" mill

Started by dirtymartini, September 24, 2017, 08:12:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dirtymartini

I just got the e-mail from Norwood announcing their "Frontier" series made in china mill. Since I have been sitting on the fence for a couple years and this mill 's price point is very tempting I have added it to my list. The Woodland Mills HM 126 or HM 130 is also right up there.

Any opinions from experienced sawyers?

https://www.frontiersawmills.com/us/products/frontier-sawmills/os27-sawmill

pwrwagontom

Interesting!  Just my two cents:

Looks to me like they started with an LT10 and re-engineered it.  This thought is based on a few of the features/design...I really like that they used a system for leveling it like an LT15.  Also, the trailer package is a good idea.  I'd buy it, but probably would use it for leveling more than transport.

I can kind of see some of the areas where they cheaped out...for example simple box channel.
The clutch system and emergency stop features look excellent.

But I have to wonder...for a righty, it looks awkward and clumsy to be operating the sawmill from the right hand side.  Even the guy in the video appears uncomfortable.

BUT, very cool looking...I would want to check one out in person.
Never give an inch

dirtymartini

Quote from: pwrwagontom on September 24, 2017, 09:09:13 AM
Interesting!  Just my two cents:

Looks to me like they started with an LT10 and re-engineered it.  This thought is based on a few of the features/design...I really like that they used a system for leveling it like an LT15.  Also, the trailer package is a good idea.  I'd buy it, but probably would use it for leveling more than transport.

I can kind of see some of the areas where they cheaped out...for example simple box channel.
The clutch system and emergency stop features look excellent.