iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What size tractor do I need

Started by AndyB, June 24, 2003, 07:44:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AndyB

I'm new at this sawmill game so need some help.

I have a WM LT15 standard equipment.  I purchased it for personal use.  I turn wood and build craftsman/stickley style antique reproductions.  This is a hobby for me guys,  I don't want to get into the business.  I'm too old for that.  How old? I was the right guide for the three wise men.

With the standard equipment I don't plan to cut logs any larger than 24"x 10-1/2'.  Because my needs aren't that big I have sources for an abundant supply of red/white oak, maple, cherry etc.

I've looked at tractors with 2000 and 2800lb lift capacity at max height.  I'm not a former marine so don't want to hunt squirrel with a 105MM Howitzer.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

kip

I have a 25hp Yanmar (gray market) tractor with a boom pole that I use and it works great. I do wish I had a FEL for it though. I wouldn't go any smaller than a 20hp if I were you.

Kip

Tex-saw

I would suggest a least a 35hp tractor,a 10' 24" oak log could easy weigh 1500 if you are going to use the rear 3pt to lift and skid the logs you can get by with a smaller tractor but if you plan on using a front end loader youll need a biger one I got a 72hp case ih with loader and it can handel anything i throw a it, the rear tires were filled with soild rubber and weigh 1800 a pice so with that kind of counter weigh and 3000 pounds fo lift it gets the job done when i start picken up big stacks of lumber i would'nt want none smaller 8) 8)

Neil_B

AndyB,
As long as you can still get out of bed in the morning, your never TOO old. ;)

My father in law has an older Massey 165 with loader. Not sure the HP but it will pick up most logs he comes across. However it would not pick up a 20" x 10' green oak log. It's a good strong tractor but not strong enough for the big un's.