iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rough cut lumber bridge deck

Started by nay-aug, July 16, 2009, 07:32:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nay-aug

Hello All,

This is my first post!

I'm building a bridge over a creek that will span 28". Concrete footings on both sides and telephone poles for the main beams. I'd like to use 2 1/2" or 3" rough cut lumber for the deck boards, but I have no idea what wood would be best or thickness. A local sawmill suggested Beech, saying that is a hard wood that will last. They even tell me they can have it Wolmanized for an additional 20 cents per board foot. I looking for help on lumber type, thickness, wolmanizing, and even the use of telephone poles for the main beams.

This is a acess road to my camp and will see normal vehicle traffic.

I'm a total rookie at this, any and all comments welcomed.

Best regards, Al

jdtuttle

28 inches or 28 feet? ;D ;D. If it's 28 feet that's a pretty long span for a pole that was meant to stand straight up for loads. Maybe someone with an engineering background will chime in. What's the width of the bridge & how many poles do you have? This is a great place to do a little research :P
jim
Have a great day

nay-aug

Hello Jim,

Thanks for replying. Yes, it is 28 feet. I was planning on using 4 or 6 poles, because I have them available. They are 8" to 9" in diameter. I could purchase some rough cut timbers if that would make a better bridge. Deck width will be 12'. I'm wide open on this project and looking for suggestions.

Any thoughts on the deck boards?

Regards, Al

jdtuttle

http://www.bridgesite.com/funand.htm
Check out this site. You will need to do load calculations of the vehicles that will be traveling over the bridge. 9" poles spanning 28' may not be adequate without some type of truss or suspension design incorporated. Know any engineers that can calculale loads? :)
jim
Have a great day

Brad_bb