iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

middle Tn

Started by residman, April 10, 2007, 04:54:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

residman

I recently purchased 40 acres in Lewis County Tn. The property had recently been "select" cut. The tree tops were left where the fell and there are other rotted / damaged trees that need to be removed. I have zero experience with this type of project but I am capable. However, i need advice on what would be the best approach to clean up the property. Are the tops worth anything for firewood? If I chip them what is the best method to deal with the chips; spread them around with a tractor, have them removed? Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

Ron Scott

If you burn firewood, that may be the best and most economical way for your "clean-up". Loop and scatter the small limb wood and run over it to get it close to the ground for soil nutrient replacement.

If you have more firewood than you can use, you might see if there is a local market for its possible sale or get a commercial firewood cutter to clean it up for you.
~Ron

thecfarm