iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newman 8-B planer questions

Started by bond-lumber, December 01, 2010, 12:46:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bond-lumber

I am new to running a Newman 8-B 4 headed planer run on flat belts (I am running this with my 88 year old neighbor - he and his late brother ran it for years but now he is getting too tired to do it all!).  I wonder if anyone has a supplier for new cutters - profiles T&G for 4/4 material, 105 siding, etc???  We have some decent heads but would like the new knives!  Also wonder about any tips for setting the top and bottom cutter heads (thickness) - 4 knives on each head.  I have a powermatic 180 planer in my shop and have used some nice magnetic setting 'helpers' but the diameter of these cutters is too great for use of those!  Thanks a bunch!!
Mobile Dimension, Newman 8b, Logosol 260

inwoodcutter

Is the machine a square head or round head? You can make a gage for the knives out of wood and even add in a dial indicator for extra accuracy. As far as knives look up Woodworkers Tool Works. They should be able to help you out.

Dan
Dan Warner
"there's money in that slab"

whiskers

Welcome,
You may find your knives and such at   http://www.newmanwhitney.com/

A while back I inquired about some cast gears for a Newman 248 surfacer which they had in new old stock. They may still have them as the price was way more than the cost of repairing the broken teeth which my FIL rebuilt.
Some pictures would be nice and we'd love to hear more about your partner.
many irons in the fire.........

bond-lumber