iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Career change questions

Started by Parafiddle, September 04, 2013, 03:14:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Parafiddle

New to the forum and looking for advice.  I have been working as a GIS Analyst for about 15 years and have a B.A. in Geography (Cartography) and an M.S. in Forest Sciences (GIS/Remote Sensing).  I also have 20+ years in the Army, between active duty, Reserves and National Guard, most of it in Military Intelligence.  I am interested in changing careers to become a Forester.  Since my Bachelor's was not in Forestry and my Master's focused on GIS and remote sensing for natural resources, I'm assuming that I will need to go back to school and get a B.S. in Forestry in order to qualify for a job.  Is this a correct assumption?

Before you say "stay working in GIS", understand that GIS jobs are changing.  There was a time when only the GIS Analysts had GIS software on their computer.  These days everyone has it and the true GIS people are being relegated to writing custom GIS applications (programming) and/or doing database management work vs. doing actual GIS analysis.  I have no interest in writing computer code and having spent the majoring of my military career working on classified projects behind a bunch of cipher-locked doors, I'm ready to get back outdoors and work in the woods a little.  I wouldn't even mind doing GIS for forestry/natural resources work, as long as I could get out in the field once in a while to do data collection, etc.  My goal is to work in the Pacific Northwest (preferably western Montana, where I own a few acres of trees).  smiley happysmiley  In a perfect world, I could keep doing full-time GIS work while taking Forestry classes part-time and transition to a forestry job in a few years.  I have a family and a mortgage which complicates things also.

Any thoughts/insights/advice from people in the fields are greatly appreciated!  Thanks!!

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum