iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduction from Alberta

Started by Manorwood, December 28, 2011, 09:01:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Manorwood

Hey folks

Just an introduction.  I live near Edmonton, Alberta, and I have a smallish but overmature wood lot.  In the interests of fire prevention (a real issue here, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Slave_Lake_wildfire) I have ordered a Wallenstein FX65 logging winch to go on my little Kubota.  My background is Forest Engineering (no longer in the industry) and I presently work as a millwright.  The wood to be removed is mostly standing dead birch and poplar with some spruce (porcupine kills).  I also have blowdown to remove.

In the near future I'll be purchasing some attachments for my winch.  On that note, if anybody knows of a place (preferably a sponsor) that sells C-hooks and ships by mail (UPS isn't nice for brokerage) please let me know.

metalspinner

welcome, Manorwood!

You sound like you have plenty of experience to share.  Is a forest engineer similar to a forester?
I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

mad murdock

Welcome manorwood. Bailey's may have what you need or logrite tools. Both forum sponsors.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

Manorwood

Quote from: metalspinner on December 28, 2011, 09:07:36 PM
welcome, Manorwood!

You sound like you have plenty of experience to share.  Is a forest engineer similar to a forester?

Close.  Mix a forester with an engineer (mostly civil, but some mech).  Eligible (in Canada anyway) for PEng and RPF (with the addition of fire, insect and disease courses).  I didn't wind up taking those courses.  I also passed on the P status for various reasons (work being the main one).  When I worked in the field, it was mostly road construction.

Manorwood

Quote from: mad murdock on December 28, 2011, 09:17:07 PM